Master of Theology




Course Title
Master of Theology (CRICOS: 063709G)

AQF Level
AQF 9 – Masters Degree


Entrance Requirements
A Bachelor of Theology

Course Duration
1.5 years full-time or 4.5 years part-time

Course Structure
108 credit points (12 course units) at AQF 8 and/or AQF 9 level (8500 and/or 9600 series)

Disciplines: Biblical Studies, Humanities in the Christian Tradition (Church History, Philosophy), Christian Life and Ministry (Christian Ethics, Christian Spirituality, Mission, Pastoral Counselling, Pastoral Theology, Worship and Liturgy), Theology

Sub-Disciplines: Biblical Studies, Christian Ethics, Christian Spirituality, Church History, Mission, Pastoral Counselling, Pastoral Theology, Philosophy, Theology, Worship and Liturgy.

Graduate Rationale
The Master of Theology is a coursework program designed for those who hold at least a Bachelor of Theology (or equivalent) and who wish to pursue theological studies in greater depth and with greater rigour. It includes either a specialisation of six units in one discipline or sub-discipline, or in-depth studies of three units in two or more disciplines or sub-disciplines, along with the opportunity for a focused research project.

Articulation to Other SCD Awards
Students are eligible to articulate to the Master of Philosophy, Doctor of Ministry, or Doctor of Theology offered by the Sydney College of Divinity provided they meet the entry requirements (including undertaking a specified research component within the Master of Theology).

Official SCD Regulations for the MTh